Picaxe 08m and sound card

Frank91608

Hi,

I'm new to the Picaxe and have been having fun learning. I came across a couple of things that have me stumped. I have the o8m starter kit and I would like to have it connected to a small sound board (http://www.electronics123.com/s.nl/it.A/id.499/.f?sc=8&category=2) I just can't figure out how to connect it to the board. I set pin2 to high and when it's connected to the +v on the sound board it cycles the power to it on and off but if I connect an LED it stays lit.

Also, I would like a switch to start the program so I set up and if/then command so when pin3=1 it starts and 0 nothing happens, but as soon as power is applied it starts. In the simulator it works like it should but not on the actual board.

Hope these aren't really stupid questions, thank you for any help you may provide.

BCJKiwi

The blurb indicates;
"The other button just has to be momentarily pressed to replay the message. A second momentary press during playback will stop the playback."

Not sure how it is hooked up but to make it work I would expect that +5V and 0V will need to be connected to power the unit. Connect the 0V to the same 0V as the 08M and use the same +5V supply for both.

Pin2 needs to go high momentarily (pulsout) and be wired to the pushbutton so the pulsout appears to be a button push.

To stop playback send a pulsout again.

Bit difficult to give more detailed info without the circuit diagram or much more info.

Post your circuit diagram and program so we can assist further.

Andrew Cowan

Have a look at the circuit - do the switches connect the input to 0V or 5V? I was having problems trying to get an LCD counter to work - then I realised the switches needed to go between the pin and 0V.

Andrew

Frank91608