input to Axe 110 datalogger

Hello Group.
I am not too good at digital stuff, but I will try to explain my problem. I am inputing into axe110 datalogger on analogue input 1, a voltage of approximately 0.500 volts, which can increase by + or - 0.001volts each second. I have an axe 033 lcd module attached, but this is reading 38 !!!. I am using a picaxe wizard programme to record readings each second.
My question is, can I get my lcd module to display 0.500, 0.501 etc with an appropriate programme, or should I amplify my output before I feed it into my datalogger sensor input? Anyone any ideas?

David Miles.

Andrew Cowan

Readadc has 255 values - so with a supply of 5v, that is a resolution of 0.019v.

Readadc10 has 1024, so with a supply of 5v, that's a resolution of 0.0049v.

Therefore, you might find you can get away with using readadc10, although you'll have to give it a go. If that doesn't work, you'll probably need to use an op-amp.

Andrew

westaust55

as Andrew indicates, READADC10 should provide adequate resolution albeit in the lower portion of the ADC input range. - (EDIT See below)

Note that Readadc10 will give a result from 0 to 1023 where the input at the same voltage as the PICAXE supply gives 1023.

Thus you need to perform some maths to rescale the value the match the input voltage.

Since you want 3 decimal places you will need to use a word variable (to hold a value greater than 255) then multiply the value(s) by 1000 to handle 3 decimal places since the PICAXE only works with positive integer values and finally use the BINTOASCII command to output each digit and insert the decimal point (".") at the correct position.

EDIT: actually even with the READADC10 your resolution is 0.0049 / 0.005 Volts as Andrew has mentioned.
So no without an op-amp for amplification, you are not going to register a difference of 0.001 volts as you seek - sorry was thinking of 2 decimal places to start with until I re-read your post.

Last edited:

Svejk