- Wireless serial with XRF modules... and 20x2 ... also 20m2 - Is it me or the chips?

Blazemaguire

Hi

I've been reading scary things about the error on the serial transmission rates for the 20x2 and 20m2 chips... annoyingly I have brought 2 of both for my first forage into the 'new picaxe' and am not sure if they are the cause of the problems I'm having, or if it's me being stupid as i'm totally new to serial communication. ( - I've only got 20x2 and 20m2 chips as I've been away from PICAXE for a while, the last chips I used were the 18x series!)

I've also brought two of the XRF wireless modules and am trying to send simple information back and forth between them - At present i'm just incrementing a variable on one chip every second, and transmitting it to another chip where I want the variable displayed on the LCD screen. - Code is below... 'Should' be really simple to do right?

TRANSMITTER

init:
pause 1000

b1=1
main:

inc B1
serout b.5,T9600_8,(b1) 'transmit through XRF
pause 1000
goto main

RECEIVER

init:
pause 1000

main:

serin b.6,T9600_8,b1 ; Read in wireless serial into b1
serout b.7,N2400,(254,1) ;clear LCD
serout b.7,N2400,(254,128) ;Goto line 1, pos 1 of LCD
serout b.7,N2400,(#b1) ; write variable B1
goto main

I'm definitely getting data transmission, as the LCD changes numbers every second in line with my transmission coding... sometimes I even get the numbers arriving in incremental order for maybe 8 times in a row, and then i'll get a random number. - If I cut power to the transmission PIC circuit then nothing arrives... hence I'm positive I've wired the modules correctly. The XRF's are apparantly supposed to handle all error checking and are supposedly 'plug and play'.... though, like I said, I'm a novice with this area of PICAXE!