Washing Machine Alert — first project

Hi all,

I have been lurking around in the background for some time now, reading and learning, and recently I built my first project :D

Our new washer doesn't have an audible alert unlike our previous one, and this is pretty much all this device provides.
It monitors the door-lock LED so that it can discriminate between the end of a cycle versus the washing machine not having started yet. Monitoring the "Cycle End" LED on the washer's panel would cause false triggers, for example when first switched on.

There is a 'sensor' housed in Polymorph (shown in the photo) which is a mini LDR to sense the door-lock light of the washer, plus a pink LED to indicate the door is locked now that my sensor covers up the machine's!

Photo 05-04-2013 19 58 29.jpg

Prior to discovering the world of Picaxe I would have built this out of discrete components, logic gates, relays, cardboard tubes and string…
I'm no programmer and would welcome feedback and tips to make the code neater / slicker / more efficient and elegant (or just less rubbish!)

Thanks & best regards,
Craig.

Code:
' Washing Machine Cycle End Alert by Craig Marston
' === Constants ===
symbol  pinkLED = C.0 		; the LED signifying the door is locked
symbol strobe = C.4 		; über-bright green LED for visual alarm

' === Directives ===
#com /dev/tty.usbserial-0000201A			' specify serial port
#picaxe 08M2							' specify processor

pause 500

main:									;label
	readadc C.1,b0						;read adc into variable b0
	if b0 > 100 then locked				;if LDR Ω is low (LIGHT on) subroutine locked
	if b0 < 70 then unlocked				;if LDR &#937; is high (DARK) then subroutine unlocked					

locked:
	high pinkLED			;signifies the door locked
	low strobe				;ensures green LED is off
	readadc C.1,b0			;read the LDR
	pause 500 				; pause 0.5 s
	if b0 < 70 then alert		; (DARK) cycle finished so jump to alert subR
	goto locked				; else stay in locked subR