Want to measure a solar panels voltage using an ADC input

rjandsam

Hi, I want to measure a solar panels output using an ADC input but before I begin just wanted to know if this is a potential divider issue or does somebody know of a better method.
I will use a 14m2 and a panel capable of outputting 6v at 250ma, the Picaxe will be 3.3v regulated from a separate supply.

Thanks Rich.

g6ejd

Straight forward potential divider solution. Work out the maximum voltage likely to be seen and scale accordingly.

Michael 2727

You'll need to take into account that the Open Circuit Voltage
of the PV panel may be nearly double the 6V rating.
So your Divider will have to be setup for the MAX output V rating.
This will mean most of the time you will only measure in the
lower half of the Divider scale.

rjandsam

Thank you guys I thought so, also sounds like a good idea to check the open circuit voltage.
I have never done anything solar before so it’s all new to me.

Thanks again
Rich.

MFB

If your new to solar power you should find the series of article that Nuts & Volts magazine published a couple of years back very informative. Not only did it cover the theory but also included many practical PICAXE based example projects. Well worth doing a search and down loading any articles that are available.

SteveT

If you have an Android device there is a Nuts and Volts app available from the Google store for free. It lets you preview the latest issues of the mag but gives full access to older issues.

AllyCat

Hi Rich,

You haven't said what you intend to do with the "voltage" measurement. IMHO the open-circuit voltage is not particularly useful and neither is the often-quoted "short-circuit current" (by itself), because neither involves the transfer of any useful power (P = V * I, and one of the latter is zero in each case).