variable analogue output

Diesel62

Im just new to this and would lkie a bit of help please.
how can I read analogue temp input voltage modify it and + or - and output it again in analogue form ?
thanks

Revolvr

Reading analogue inputs, say a temp sensor, is no problem. The chips generally support 3 or more ADC inputs which are converted to 8-bit or 10-bit digital values.

None of the chips output analogue voltages. However they do support 1 or more PWM outputs (Pulse Width Modulation). Usually a PWM output will meet your needs.

If you really needed a true analogue voltage output the PWM signal could be converted by an external RC network.

-- Dan

premelec

PWMOUT can run continuously on 08M from a single pin... PWM needs updating and I use serial D/A converter chips like TI TLC520 for stable continuous D/A outputs....

oops - that's a TLC5620 4 x 8 bit D/A converter chip... basically a resistance string with 255 taps...

Edited by - premelec on 14/01/2007 16:51:17

demonicpicaxeguy

get a parallel adc and a parallel dac
all along with a multiplexer and bit of creative writing you'd be able to reproduce te signal and do the processing as well...
whats this for anyway?

Diesel62

thanks I want to be able to modify analoge signals from temp,map,boost sensors in a car before they are processed at the engine ecu.What is the easiest route ?

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
<i>What is the easiest route ? </i>

Op-amps with adjustable gain and adjustable offset probably.

premelec

depends on how much manipulation you want to do.. PICAXE could do some math for you with breakpoints etc. - and as Hippy points out there are OP amps with offset possibilities - www.analog.com ?

Diesel62

Yes I would like to be able to manipulate the signal as much as possible so I think I will need more than just an opamp with off set. I would like to be able to adjust + or -for the 255 steps

moxhamj