Using a PICAXE chip to control multiple Ghetto Pixels (open source BlinkM)

agroom

I recently decided to try out making my own Ghetto Pixels, they're an open source version of the BlinkM pixel. I've successfully made 10 ghetto pixels that I'm currently controlling with an Arduino and BlinkM's sequencing software through it's I2C bus as described in the ghetto pixel instructable.

What I'd like to do though is use a PICAXE chip to control the pixels. Ideally I picture coding several sequences for the pixels, storing them on the PICAXE and using a multi-directional switch (or similar device) to cycle through the sequences. This way I can setup the pixels and run light sequences without having to rely on using my Arduino. However, I'm completely new to using I2C and don't know where to begin.

I'm wondering if anyone has done this before and/or has some advice or knows of some starter tutorials to get me going.

techElder

Be aware that one of the problems with the "Ghetto Pixels" stuff is that it won't do ALL of the sequence developed in the ThingM sequencer. I found that bit of info in the comment section of that Instructable.

You also have to be aware of current drive limitations of the PICAXE if you are planning to use high current RGB LEDs.

agroom

Have you read the i2c Tutorial?
I have not, thanks! I'll go through that and see if it either makes things more confusing or just raises more questions :)

Be aware that one of the problems with the "Ghetto Pixels" stuff is that it won't do ALL of the sequence developed in the ThingM sequencer. I found that bit of info in the comment section of that Instructable.

You also have to be aware of current drive limitations of the PICAXE if you are planning to use high current RGB LEDs.