Understanding voltage drop

pme720

I am working with LEDs, and trying to get a better understanding of how current drive, LED voltage curves and voltage drop all come together. Assume a high powered XLAMP 4550 125mA green LED, data sheet here: http://www.cree.com/products/xlamp_docs.asp.

So I can make this circuit:

+--i|i|i|i|----|LM317|----|R1|-+--|LED|--+
| +------------+ |
| |
+----------------------------------------+

I am no expert a courier circuit schematics, so this is supposed to show a DC (with whatever voltage makes this conversation interesting, see below) power supply, LM317 with a resistor to the ADJ pin for constant current output, and my green LED.

According to the datasheet, the LED's voltage drop is 3.6V at 125mA draw and 3.1V at 35mA draw.

scenario 1
If R1 = 10 Ohms and E = 5.5V I get 125mA constant regulated out of the LM317 (drops 1.9V at 200mA per LM317 National Semi datasheet) which leaves 3.6V for my LED. So my LED gets his 125mA, 3.6V and lights at full brightness. 1.9V x .125A = .2375W dissipated between LM317 and R1, so they are also happy. And I don't need any other resistor in series with the LED, because his current is well under control via the LM317. All correct?

scenario 2
R1 = 10 Ohms and E = 5V. I still get 125mA out of the LM317, but only 3.1V are left for the LED. What does he do? This is my confusion about "current driven" devices like LEDs. The more current, the brighter the LED burns. But there is still a voltage component, the voltage drop curve. So in this example, does the LED light up as though he has 35 mA because at 3.1V that is his current draw? If so where does the extra 90mA in the circuit go? Burned off by the LM317 and R1? Or is the LED at full 125mA brightness, despite the lower voltage?

scenario 3