Underclocking a 28X2 - is this correct?

Mikler

(Yes - I have done a search for 'underclocking' :)

Help appreciated as I am very new to all this....

I am trying to 'underclock' a 28X2, just before 'sleep'
and 'back to normal' i.e. 8Mhz internal immediately after 'sleep

Is the following code correct for a 28X2?

pokesfr $D3,%00000000 ' = slow down to 31Khz
sleep 1
pokesfr $D3,%01100000 ' = 8 MHz; speed back up

If the above is OK, then I have another question - my software uses an interrupt - is it possible for the interrupt to take place before it has reverted back to full speed? If yes, is the solution to temporarily disable the interrupt?

Thanks very much!

Mik

Mik

eclectic

Curiouser and curiouser?

I've just tried Mik's program
Code:
#picaxe 28x2 ; 3volt

high C.0, C.1, C.2, C.3, C.4, C.5, C.6, C.7
high B.0, B.1, B.2, B.3, B.4, B.5, B.6, B.7
disablebod

main:

disablebod
sleep 4
SOUND B.7,(80,10) 'give me a bleep
low C.0 'flash test LED
pause 2000;0 'pause to display LED
high C.0 'switch off LED
goto main 'loop
Axe28x2 3v, in anAXE022 board, with two resonators.
Loaded the program, with jumpers still in place.

Around 0.002 mA (~2uA)
~4mA when c.0 on, then back to ~2uA

However,

removing the jumpers or loading the program without jumpers
results in ~620 mA (similar to Mik's results).

Replacing the jumpers, (either 4 or 16MHz)
and back to ~2uA

Test repeated with two different 28X2 and two different AXE022

Hmm?

PS Mik ; see manual 2, p.183 Setfreq

PS2 Adding Setfreq m8 also made no difference

Attachments

Mikler

hmmm...

Note that I am not using an external resonator?

I assume that by having a resonator in the circuit, it stops the input pin floating....?

Fascinating how close our figures are....

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
The recommended way of updating any SFR would be to load it and only change the bits which need to be changed. So to clear bits 4,5,6 in OSCCON to select 31kHz ...

PeekSfr $D3, b0
bit4 = 0
bit5 = 0
bit6 = 0
PokeSfr $D3, b0