Too many iterations without convergence

Brougs

Hi,

Could you please help me with this error message. There is no reference to it in the manual. It occurs when I press the play button on a 555 circuit I have drawn up. Its my first attempt at using VSM so perhaps I am missing something.

I checked any other references on this forum to this error message and there is only one post which does not relate to my problem.

If I have attached the design. Any help would be most appreciated

Many Thanks

Attachments

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member
This is a known issue that can arise on some circuits when using the battery symbol. It will be fixed in the next ISIS release.

In the mean time simply replace the battery with a power and ground terminal instead (right click > terminals). The simulation will then run correctly.

Brougs

Hi Technical,

You Beauty !

Really appreciate your response. Now I can get on with checking it out.

Cheers

Buzbot

tiscando

I often get this error when I am creating frequency-involving circuits:

[SPICE] Gmin step [46 of 120] failed: GMIN=3.54813e-007
[SPICE] Gmin stepping failed
[SPICE] Source step [0 of 120] failed: source factor = 0.0000
[SPICE] Too many iterations without convergence.
Real Time Simulation failed to start.

Could anyone suggest a global remedy please?
Or do I have to provide an example?

EDIT: At the moment, I keep having to work around this problem, which unneccessarily narrows my possibilities.
I don't use the battery symbol.

Last edited:

tiscando

hi,

I didn't get a reply to the above post yet. I think this means that I have to give you an example of this glitch (whick keeps mentioning "GMIN") that happens in my frequency circuits.