stupidly simple problem but in need of help :(

sim_carp

hi there everyone

im pretty new to PICAXE and im having a few problems with my first proper project. i am using a PICAXE18 and using the new YENKA PICS software made by good old crocodile clips to generate code and program the hardware. I am also using a standard 18 pin project board supplied by tech-supplies.co.uk

my problems are with a water level sensor design. I have code which i am confident of. whereby 3 switches are turned on and as a result, for each switch that is connected 2 seconds are added to a delay between the flash of an LED....... planned result being that when all switches are closed more delays are added and the LED flash is less frequent..... when all connections are broked no extra delay is added and the LED output flashes much quicker.

My hopes were to use the water itself as a conductive path to "close the switch" on the inputs as it were, but this doesnt seem to work in real life. bridging the wire manually does however bring the desired effect

My conclusion is that the resistivity of the water is causing the problem.... incidentally i did discover tipping a load of salt into the water (lot more impurities) made the system work perfectly!

any suggestions as to how i might make this work would be really greatful.

last thing to mention... this project is due in 8 days !!!!! aarrrrghhhh!

thanks in advance for your help and advice.

manuka

Any code for us? You don't say if this is rain water (which usually has higher resistance), nor what the sensors are,nor how they're positioned in the "tank". How are you powering this setup? Tell us MORE PLEASE, especially your budget!