Smaller picaxe to store 1kb comming from the serial port

djsoftlayer

Hi guys!, I have a very simple protocol, is just a serial line where I need to connect some picaxes, in this serial bus some time a 1kbit word is send from a computer (they are always 1kbit fixed), from this 1000 bits of data the first 8 are the address of the microcontroller who needs to save the next 992 bits, this address is store on the picaxe program by just a simple var.

So the program is always listening to the serial port, when something comes it read the first 8 bits and if they match the micro address continues reading the next 992 bits and store them. Every micro will only save one set of 998 bits at the same time.

My problems are two, for a long time I don’t use picaxe so I don’t very well the new M2 models and I am not very good at programing with picaxe, the last time I implemented a serial in was something like: serin serpin,N2400,(27),seraddr, b4,b5 that obviously does not serve for this long set of data, I know that the micro can hold this amount of data using peek and poke, but I really don’t know how.

The solution have to be the most cheaper micro because they will be about 100 micros connected to this serial line and my budget is very low :).

Thanks for any help!

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
So the program is always listening to the serial port, when something comes it read the first 8 bits and if they match the micro address continues reading the next 992 bits and store them. Every micro will only save one set of 998 bits at the same time.
The first question is are you receiving 1000 bits or receiving 125 serially framed bytes with start and stop bits ?

Do you have any link to anything which describes where this data is coming from and details exactly what format it is in ?

djsoftlayer

Mod

The first question is are you receiving 1000 bits or receiving 125 serially framed bytes with start and stop bits ?