Simultaneous count command

Captain Haddock

Hi All
Complete newbie here, I would like to count input pulses from two inputs in a 60 second span simultaneously and do some maths with the results, I can do it with one no problem but of course the program waits for the minute to pass before moving to the next input count, how can I do the two at the same time?
Am currently using an 18x on the T4 training board, have to admit being a bit drunk isn't helping but is xmas day :D
Any help greatly appreciated.

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
Welcome to the PICAXE forum and Merry Christmas.

You can't run two COUNT commands simultaneously but you might be able to do it by polling depending upon how wide the pulses are and what frequency they arrive at. If higher frequencies you could measure for much shorter times so there's better interleaving.

Do you need the pulse counts or are they an intermediate step to determine a frequency or something else ?

Captain Haddock

Thanks for the welcome, I've never played with these things before.
I'm wanting to compare the throughput of 2 electric meters (one solar PV, one mains grid) and work out what is going spare by using the pulses that drive the led to switch things on when free power is spare.
Measureing pulses seems the easiest way to do it.
Frequency could be as low as 4 pulses a minute.

eclectic

Captain.

What's the highest frequency likely to be.

Secondly, two counters?
Use two Picaxes "talking" to each other.
They're cheap enough.

e

Captain Haddock

Was thinking about using a couple of 08m2's for the counting and another to do the work, leccy meters put out 1000 pulses per Kwh so I recon the lowest will be 3 pulses per minute and highest 42 pulses per minute, may try counting time between pulses instead of the pulses themselves to make the reaction time quicker.

eclectic

Sounds straightforward enough.

Manual 2 p. 50 and p.160 for background.

Pulsin or Count

The Picaxes could run at 4MHz or 2MHz