Simulating Buttons

LED Maestro

Hello forum,
I am having problems with the picaxe simulator. Namely trying to simulate a momentary push button. As I am new to picaxe, I haven't got to grips with everything the sim' has to offer. I was wondering if it was possible to, for example, press C.1 in the sim' for it to go high and activate B1 and then C.1 to go low without me having to press it but keep B1 on. It's all part of a project I am working on but can't seem to write the code very well. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,

eclectic

Simulation yes

Code:
#picaxe 18M2
main:

if pinC.1 = 1 then

high B.1 
low C.1
endif

goto main
In real life, you'll need to switch off

e

westaust55

You may need to be careful when implementing that in the real world.
Let's say you have a switch from +5 Volts to the PICAXE input C.1 and a pull-down resistor from 0 Volts to the same input.
Then you operate the switch to make the input high (=1) and then the PICAXE executes the command LOW C.1
The result is the pin C.1 becomes an output driven low but connected to +5 Volts
Giving a short through the PICAXE pin C.1 = smoke released and PICAXE faulty.

It may be a good idea to post your proposed circuit and a clear step by step description of what you are trying to achieve (and why. Trying to force the input low) so folks can better understand and help.

LED Maestro

Ah...yes that is a good point. Thanks. I am trying to sequence a set of 16 led's. I press one of two push buttons and the first led comes on, press again and the next comes on whilst the 1st is still light and so on. Then the second button would be used to do the same operation in reverse, so cycle down through the leds. there is a vid on you tube of what I am trying to achieve.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLYiVdC7Iv4
I have tried to write code to do this but it just doesn't work quite right.
Thanks again for the warning,

eclectic

@LED M.

Just post the code and say what exactly is happening.