Silicon chip article on keyboards question

nzdragme

Hi, I'm just fairly new to picaxes and have been following through these great articles in silicon chip by a fellow kiwi. I have been trying to figure out how to convert the keyboard commands to the 28x1 style eg from this:
keyin
read keyvalue,b1
if keyvalue=$5A etc etc

to:
kbin ?

I am unsure how to do the kbin command in the place of the keyin part.
Can someone help please?:confused:

nzdragme

Someone must know how to do this? There are such amazing brains here, surely someone could help me please?

manuka

Well I for one have subject my own gray matter to excessive amber fluid over the years, so must reluctantly decline your "amazing brain" praise. However (& as you kindly mentioned my SiChip articles), I'm happy to help translate keyin/keybin setups, but will need to unearth 28X resources. PLEASE specify more about what you are trying to do! Stan.

Last edited:

nzdragme

The man himself! I have enjoyed all your articles.
I am trying to output from a keyboard, through a 28x1 to a serial lcd.
As I have very limited programming experience, I am having trouble working out the syntax of using the kbin command needed on the 28x1 to replace the keyin command in your program listing, keyb18xa.bas. Obviously I can't use the keyvalue term either which is part of my problem.
Hope this helps explain it. I think I can work out the rest eg. output to the lcd etc
Any help would be much appreciated.

manuka

Keyboard-28X1-LCD. Overview needed please. What are you trying to do overall? Why a 28X1 instead of 18A/X ?

nzdragme