Servo/Servopos mystery

PhilipS

gosub PROBLEM SOLVED

a) I have read the Read Me First document
b) I have searched the forums and found nothing
c) This is a 'hobby', I have little electronics experience, this is my first PICAXE, but I do have software experience.

I recently received my Picaxe 28x1 and the servo upgrade pack. I followed the instructions given with the servo pack, i.e. soldered on the 10 way header, fitted the DIL resistor pack and connected the supplied 6V battery pack to header E and then connected the servo to output 0.

Using the program on the instruction sheet supplied with the servo upgrade (modified the 'loop' label as that's a reserved word) the servo rotates clockwise and then buzzes. I tried the example program in picaxe_manual3.pdf and that behaves the same.

I changed the program to use different output ports, still no joy.

At this point I was thinking the servo must be broken; however I found code someplace that used pulsout and when I tried that it worked just fine which makes me think that the servo is ok but the servo/servopos commands aren't working.

I don't have any spare bits I can swap out and I don't have much in the way of diagnostic equipment - a multi-meter and some LEDs. I patched the outputs into a breadboard and connected LEDs to show Power, Output 0 (and Output 7 so I could flash the LED to show what the program was up to) and patched up to a header for the servo with signal from output 0, V2+ and 0V.

The power to the picaxe (from 3 alkaline cells) is 4.42V

I can measure 5.81V coming from the board to the servo header (4 x alkaline).
When I use the pulsout command I can see LED0 light up, the brightness dependent on the width of the pulse (which is what I would have expected) and the servo rotates anti-clockwise as expected.