sd card - mmc interfacing to and end - so i've got a better option

demonicpicaxeguy

it's been a long time going at it with different cards from different manufacturers, different voltage regulators , and various different circuits trying to get a reliable and repeatable read and write operation out of any of these cards

the sd specification is lousy at describing the 1 bit spi protocol in any real detail and the mmc specifications aren't much better

the vast majority of the cards i have tried, do not follow the 1 bit spi mode in any reliable way or at all to the specifications

now that i have officially given up on the whole sd card and mmc card idea i'm looking at alternatives that is much easier and simpler to interface to and i've got this in mind since i've had some experience with similar devices in the past:

The K9F8G08U0M-P by samsung is a 48 pin 8gbit(1gbyte) flash chip
the chip itself actaully only uses about 14 pins for operation and is built in a similar fashion to the old style parallel eprom memmory only extended a bit to accomadate the larger capacity

i'm looking into mounting these onto a pcb with a 3.3 regulator and a level shifter and if anyone is interested i'm willing to stick a reasonable price on them

anyone got any ideas ,thoughts ,coments and criticisms of the idea?

Last edited:

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
A 14-pin interface doesn't sound that simple, but if it works and MMC/SD doesn't then it's hard to quantify. The appeal of MMC/SD is low cost, easy availability ( often already owned and re-usable elsewhere ), and simple ( in theory ) interfacing.

The K9F8G08U0M seems to also be quite complex to control and there's the issue with invalid blocks which cannot be avoided as it appears chips will be shipped with invalid blocks ( page 0 only guaranteed for up to 1K erase cycles ), and it's up to the programmer to work logical addressing around bad blocks.