Running out of inputs and outputs

Froggs

Running out of inputs and outputs

Help please. First some context. I’m new to all of this but a long Easter week end has seen some quick (and successful) learning and prototyping. This is what I want to achieve.

Using 18* DS18b20 sensors with output to 6* LCDs using SEROUT (and FRM010 firmware). I have ‘invested’ in 28X2 chips for my learning experience. (My prototyping works on just 2 DS and 1 LCD; but I’m confident that I can ‘grow’ the code).

I understand that I have a few options which include:

a> 28X2 = 22 config. i/o pins (if so configured this means use all i/o pins for base functionality as above). This will not allow room for additional functionality/ extensibility?
b> 40X2 = 33 config i/o pins (this allows room for additional functionality/ extensibility as above)? [but I don’t have any yet!!]
c> assumption a above is that each DS18 would be on own i/opin. I could ‘pair up’ sensors and create (say 8*) multiple 1-wire bus (in my example freeing up 8 pins)? I had planned not to use the 1-wire bus because of the caveats on 1-wire topology; cable length, etc reported in this forum and on the data sheets..

Then I get less certain of my options

d> perhaps I could use i2c for my LCDs. I haven’t read into this too much but I don’t see that that will free so many pins, and may make the code more ‘complex’?
e> perhaps I could use i2c for 28X2 chips.. and ‘share’ the inputs/ outputs thereby? but again for my level of leaning this is unchartered territory?
f> some other kind of multiplexing some how?????

So my question to this forum is to ask the learned and knowledgeable to comment on their preferences for the approaches identified above (or perhaps alternatives that I have not yet considered)

One further question. Given the nature of the sensors and LCDs proposed should I be concerned about [current] load?

Thank you!

Dominic B

I've not used i2c with LCDs, but I think that still requires the one input per LCD