RFID Question

cbounds

I am new to PICAXE and learning so I am learning but I have a question:

I have my 08m hooked up to an ID-12 RFID reader and I am reading Parallax RFID cards. the code I am running to test is:

Pause 2000
SetFreq M8
SerTxd( "Starting", CR, LF )
Do
Serin 2, N9600_8, ( $02 ), b0, b1, b2, b3, b4, b5, b6, b7, b8, b9
SerTxd( "Tag = ", #b0, " ", #b1, " ", #b2, " ", #b3, " ", #b4, " " )
SerTxd( #b5, " ", #b6, " ", #b7, " ", #b8, " ", #b9, CR, LF )
Loop

The problem is that the cards numbers are showing in the terminal in this format:
Tag = 102 205 6 86 86 11 131 70 35 131

Shouldnt the cards show something like 046052C23F (numbers and letters) instead of this long sequence of numbers? What am I missing here? Thanks for any help......

cbounds

When I see others running this code with the ID-12 they are ot coverting anything? Not sure what I am doig wrong here.

KeithRB

One problem is that the ID-12 outputs in ASCII already, so you don't need the pound signs in the Sertxd command.

cbounds

This issue is still getting me and I have not yet found an answer. I have my ID-12 wired as follows:
'Pin 1-Supply Voltage-GND
'Pin 2-Reset-+5V
'Pin 3-ANT-No Connection
'Pin 4-ANT-No Connection
'Pin 5-Card Present-No Connection
'Pin 6-Future-No Connection
'Pin 7-Format Selector-GND
'Pin 8-CMOS-Data 1-To Input 2 of Picaxe 08m2
'Pin 9-TTL Data (Inverted)-Data 0-No Connection
'Pin 10- No connection
'Pin 11-Supply Voltage-+5v

Do I have something wired wrong or is it my code? Card are still read in this format in the terminal:
Tag = 102 205 6 86 86 11 131 70 35 131
instead of 046052C23F like I need them. Anyone have any ideas here????

cbounds

Yes I did. Thank You.... I removed the pound signs and the data was still displayed in the terminal the same way? Nothing else stands out?

AllyCat

Hi,

Indeed, what code are you now using, preferably within
Code:
 tags (# button)?  The code in post #1 certainly won't print out in Hexadecimal format.