Radio controlled Fish. Advice on code.

davyjoneslocker

Hello,

I'm very new to programming and after some faffing about with a OOPIC, which I found counter intuitive and ill suited to use with radio control, I chose the Picaxe as a better alternative for a project I have on the ways- a radio controlled swimming fish.

I hope some people on here can give me some advice on my thoughts so far.

Inspired by the work of Essex university, and their robotic fish on display at the London Aquarium- check the videos at the following links- I decided I’d like to have a go at something similar myself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=REi1g69P9w8&mode=related&search=

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eO9oseiCTdk&mode=related&search=

http://privatewww.essex.ac.uk/~jliua/

The fish use four servos for articulation, This gives a very high degree of manoeuvrability, enabling the very realistic swimming motion and other benefits like ‘C-turns’ which enable the fish to turn in it’s own body length.
The position and speed of the servos are governed by a Totalrobots DS-SCX8S microcontroller, which I believe is a precoded PIC chip running at 8MHZ that can be addressed via I2C or RS232.

http://www.totalrobots.com/access_files/sm_drivers.htm#ds-scx

The Essex Uni team used a PIC chip to relay information from various sensors and to provide the necessary control bytes for the DS-SCX8S.

As opposed to autonomous control, in my case, I wish to control the fish manually via radio control- like a novel model submarine.

As the Picaxe has a pulse in facility and i2c, I considered it a good choice to convert the R/C signals to the control data required by the DS-SCX8S.

My jottings so far have come up with the following-

Use the pulse in command to read two channels from my R/C receiver, controlling speed and steering respectively.