Question about general circuity

Alex3k

Out of curiosity do you all remember circuits? for example do you remember what value resistors to use with things like leds, picaxe chips and other components? or do you look things up? do you know what transistor to use at a certain point?

Ive been wondering this for a while now because i have to google everything, i know im new at this but still.

inglewoodpete

Out of curiosity do you all remember circuits? for example do you remember what value resistors to use with things like leds, picaxe chips and other components? or do you look things up? do you know what transistor to use at a certain point?

Ive been wondering this for a while now because i have to google everything, i know im new at this but still.
I started out like you. I learned circuit theory and the formulae required to design and understand circuits.

Some people remember football scores. Others remember circuit configurations and component values.

Alex3k

Do you have any recommendations on maybe websites or books that you used? more resources the better in my view.

Dippy

Yes, it was a jungle for me too.
If you learn the basics, as said by Pete, that gives a good starting point.

In many cases choosing a value is based on memory - it's called experience - and that can't all be learnt at school, though you can make a start right now.
Like learning the 'times tables' when you are 5 years old I don't have to think about how to work out 7x9.

I keep a notebook (and CAD folder) of more complicated things, sometimes jokingly called a 'grimoire' - look it up.

As you get more used to it you'll be able to design things based on the flow of currents - this is why the water/plumbing analogy can be useful.

But you really need to know the basics to get going.
And you need to understand what is going on to be able to do the calcs to define and refine your design.

It won't happen overnight. Effort in = Results out.