Protecting ADC inputs from >5V?

GreenLeader

I am a Picaxe novice and an electronics beginner. I am planning to read a transducer with the 10bit ADC on a PICAXE (not sure yet which one) - any comments on my plan appreciated :)

The transducer needs a 10V supply and outputs +/-225mV.
I intend to use an AD623 with gain of 10 and a Vref of 2.5V to give me 2500mV +/- 2250mV for the Picaxe 10bit ADC to read.

It is possible that the transducer can output say 400mV if it is overloaded. In this case the Picaxe ADC will see 2500+4000=6500mV.

My circuit diagram is attached - I have 3 questions:

1. Will 6500mV on the ADC damage the Picaxe? If so how can I protect the Picaxe?

2. I am using a pair of resistors as a divider to provide Vref at 2500mV. Is this a satisfactory solution and what sort of magnitude resistors should I use?

3. Is my layout with two regulators and caps satisfactory? (LM78L05 for 5V to Picaxe and LM2904 for 10V to transducer, all powerd by a 12V battery).

Many thanks

Attachments

gengis

Clamp

The cheap easy common way is to clamp the input signal with a pair of diodes. The resistor is necessary to protect the driving device and limit current.

In normal operation the diodes are reverse biased and effectively not part of the circuit - in a case where the signal tries to exceed the power supply or go below ground (if the driver is bipolar) the appropriate diode conducts and clamps the voltage at .6 volts above the supply voltage (with ordinary silicon signal diodes)

Many IC's already contain protection diodes on the inputs - it is somewhat safer to provide an external diode capable of handling some current (most 1N4148's are good for 100 ma)