Problems with Serrxd on 18M2

Armand

Hi.
I am new to picaxe, and working on a project where the 18M2 is controlling a PWM fan depending on temperature. It's all good so far, but now I want to be able to send commands to the 18M2 to change the behavior of the fan.
My plan is to send a byte with two different qualifiers to adjust the MIN_temp and the MAX_temp and store them i EEPROM.
For now I am testing this code by sending and receiving using the picaxe terminal, storing the variables in b2 and b3, display them on my LCD and sending them to the terminal. It works, but I get a lot of errors. I have tried with and without the "add <CR>" in the terminal
Below is the output from a test.

DEDEDEDE3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E383838383838383838383838383838ðððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððð¥+DEðððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððððð¥+DEDED5D5D5D5

* First the program terminal receives the expected "DE" as the MIN and MAX is set to 68 and 69 (ASCII D and E)
* Then I enter MN3 in the terminal and we can see the MIN value changes to "3" on both my LCD and the terminal output.
* Then I enter MX8 in the terminal and we can see the MAX value changes to "8" on both my LCD and the terminal output.
* -THEN- when I enter MX9 to change the MAX value again to "9" everything goes tits up... we can see that a lot of "ð" characters are sent and it seems that the 18M2 resets because the next two values are are "DE"
* I try to send a "MN5" and now it works again, and I abort the program.

This happens in a random fashion. Sometimes i can enter many values before things go wrong. If I decrease the serrxd timeout to 100 it get the error almost all the time... Anyone who can shed some lights on what is going on?

Another thing is that I dont want to have long timeouts because that would slow down the program code too much. Any tip of how to solve that without using a digital input?

Here is my code:

Code:
symbol CHAR = b0
symbol INST = b1