please help - i can't download

trudie

Hello, I'm new to this picaxe stuff and this forum and I'm wondering if anyone can help me solve my problem.

I have a LED sequencer circuit that I know works with another picaxe chip but when I try to download onto a new chip I get an error saying that it is not connected.

Do I have to do something to the chip before it will work?

Please help me.

Trudie

Andrew Cowan

Try again with the other chip. If it works with the other chip, that rules out batteries, incorrect COM settings etc. If it is just that the new chip doesn't work, make sure it is fully inserted. Are you sure it is a PICAXE chip (rather than a blank PIC)?

Andrew

slimplynth

You said "another Picaxe chip" are they the same model i.e if are you swapping an 08M for an 18X or any other chip you'll first need to goto >>> View >>> options in the program editor, select the new chip type from the 'Mode' Tab, click apply and then ok it... failing that.. have you put the chip in the right way round? A picture would be good.

trudie

I have tried 3 18a chips from a new batch of chips from rapid and none of them work - they are picaxe chips. It is the right way round etc and I know all the connections are correct as the old chip downloads fine - the old chip is a 18 not a 18a but I changed this on the program editor - any other ideas?

Andrew Cowan

If you go view>>>options and click on 'firmware' (with the chips inserted, cable connected, power on), what does it say?

Andrew

trudie

I am at home now but i'll check that when I am in school tomorrow. Thanks for your help so far.

trudie

yes that is the error message I get, but it works with another picaxe chip.

When I do fview -> options -> firmware it comes up with this error message as well.

sedeap

Hi:
maybe you must load some simple prog in the new 18a and if work, try download the full program you have from the other 18 chip...