PIR sensor with LCD counter: need a push in the right direction

oKors

I'm fairly new to Picaxe and have spent the last week scouring the internet and search function on the forum looking for code or a "sample" circuit for the device I'm trying to create. Haven't found anything inline with my needs.

Basically I want to build a small PIR motion detection unit with a counter. When someone walks by the counter will increment by 1.

Here's a few of the PIR's I'm looking into: Panasonic NaPion or this low-power sensor which seems to only source out of china.

I guess right now I'd appreciate a push in the right direction. Which chip or kit will drive the counter and also provide a reset. Also, I couldn't really find any example code on this. As a learning curve I'd like to practice on a real-world application if that makes sense.

Thanks, and sorry for the noobie questions.

lanternfish

Hi and welcome to the Forum

What is your previous electronics experience?

To help you on your way I have the following comments:

1. As you are making a counter a quick search of the forums using the Search option could provide you with a lot of info from others projects. Also have a look at the completed projects section.

2. As for the pir, either would probably do. The digital out (On or Off) will make for easy interfacing.

Anyway, have a browse around for similar projects on this site and let us know if you need more assistance.

Chavaquiah

I can vouch for those Panasonic. A bit on the expensive side but work great and do so from 5V, same as most Picaxes.

Any Picaxe can drive them as all it takes is a single input pin. Not all Picaxes have a reset pin but cutting power for a little while should achieve the same function.

Just for fun, I still have the code I used for my very test with a Napion:

Code:
#picaxe 08M
#no_end

symbol PIR = pin1
symbol LED = 4

main:
	b0 = PIR
	if b0 = 0 then
		high LED
	else
		low LED
	endif
	goto main