Picaxe newbie

Innes

Hello all,

I'm completely new to the picaxe (and microcontrollers), so please treat me gently! I have a (very) basic knowledge of electronics, and I am having some trouble fully understanding the outputs on the picaxe project board...

I have done some experimenting and have successfully lit an LED, buzzed a buzzer (also changing the sound of the buzzer using PAUSEs between HIGHs and LOWs for the buzzer pins), and I have also controlled a miniature DC motor using both 'DIY' PWM (i.e. PULSOUT) and also using the PWM command (I put an 18x on the board when testing PWM because the basic 18 doesn't support it). Hopefully that has given you an idea of what <i>does </i> work, and what I am capable of. If nothing else, it proves that the hardware works and that I can download code to the picaxe!

My problem is with driving a 7 segment LED display. I have built a circuit (on a breadboard) based on the CMOS 4026B which is shown on page 21 in the Microcontroller Interfacing Circuits manual. When I connect the 4026B circuit to the picaxe project board, it permanently displays 0 (zero). I am fairly confident that the 4026 circuit works because I have tested it when not connected to the picaxe board, like this...

1) Touch a wire on the 4026 'reset' pin and the display goes to zero.
2) Touch a wire on the 4026 'clock' pin and the numbers rapidly increment; when the wire is no longer touched, a digit is displayed. All the digits display correctly. Doing a reset as in step (1) above resets the display to zero.

I <i>think </i> that the problem may be because the picaxe board outputs are buffered via the ULN2308 Darlington driver IC, but I'm not really sure.

Can anyone advise? Thanks in advance.

womai

Hi,