PicAXE Newb serial connection question

mad_sci_guy

Hi everyone,

This is my first post, I'm a total newb to picaxes and I was wondering how to hardware connect my picaxe 28x to the TLC5940 The data sheet talks about SIn, Sout and Sclk ports... no idea what to do with the Sclk. I'm using this circuit to control a RGB led and I just need to figure out how to get it connected correctly so I can start playing around with the software :).

Thanks guys/gals!

Last edited:

manuka

Start Simply !

???- surely an overkill for just a single RGB LED??? Even a 08M could initially handle this! The TLC5946, being a 16-Channel, 12-Bit PWM LED Driver with 6-Bit Dot Correction , IMHO is quite a heavy duty chip for gaining basic PICAXE insights! Have you explored basic HIGH, LOW, SERIN, PWM etc?

mad_sci_guy

I thought the picaxe could only pwm out on 2 channels? and the rgb led needs 3 channels? Correct me if I'm wrong or if theres an easier way to do it.

thanks

manuka

The 08M has a single background PWMOUT feature (Pin 2),but PWM is available on Pins 1,2,4.

Of course,aside from PWM, this may be delivered simply by turning each of the tri-colour LED lines fully on or off. Using it in this way you get color outputs: Red, Green, Blue, Magenta, Cyan and Yellow (& White with all 3 on) - without complex PWM control.

I'd said INITIALLY of course - RGB LED settings are so subjective- " Ah- exactly the greeny-blue I wanted to mirror the growth in the fridge"- that all manner of tweaking may be involved. Diffusing the output & maybe double speeding the 08M (to 8 MHz) may help improve the visual effect.

Check previous RGB Forum postings => http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=5007

Last edited:

mad_sci_guy