People's choice award-NZ Bright Sparks Comp

Denzel

Hi everyone,
My names Liam Ellis, im an 18 year old student at Hutt Valley High School and Ive just got into the finals for the 2009 Bright Sparks competition with two of my projects.
Having come first in this competition two years running I am extatic to have reached the finals for a third time and can't wait to hear the results (when they come out in early novemeber).

The project I have the highest hopes for is 'Avert' (a combination of avert and vertibrae) which is essentially a chain like structure sewn into a skins compression top that moulds to the shape of the wearer's spine and tells them when their posture is bad. i.e. It beeps through headphones or out load and flashes until it is corrected. The device can also record the data coming off the 24 potentiometers in the spine and save it to an EEPROM so that it can be uploaded later and drawn on the screen as a vector diagram through visual basic software I wrote. The project uses a picaxe 28x (onboard processor) and a picaxe 18x (controller).
Please see a youtube video here for more info:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S2K34GrkSs0

My other project is a knitting machine created out of an old epson inkjet printer that knits scarves with 24 knitting machine needles, two servos, an optical sensor and a DC motor. The small machine is controlled with a Picaxe 14M and can be seen briefly at the you tube video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1T9dwy5jTFA

I wish to thank all the people on the forum who contributed to solutions for problems I encountered, I have recognised this in my competition entry.

I would also be extremely grateful If you could vote for me (or others if you prefer) for the Bright Sparks competition People's Choice Award for 2009.
My profile and a link to vote is found on the Bright Sparks awards website here:

http://www.brightsparksawards.org.nz/finalists/17-18-years/liam-ellis-avert/