Oscilloscope

SilentScreamer

Hi, I've been given an oscilloscope but I can't seem to get it to work correctly, I have no experience what so ever with scopes so it's probably just me (I hope atleast). I've attached two pictures, one is of the scope in general and the other is a trace of a 12V AC (50Hz) signal (apologies for the reflection, I couldn't take a photo without it). Can anyone suggest what I'm doing wrong? Or is the scope broken (which is a possibility)? I think I have the correct manual here if its of any use.

I know this isn't exactly PICAXE but all the electronics I do is with PICAXE.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Removed the second attachment due to the better quality image in post #3.

Attachments

Last edited:

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
It could be broken. You can try connecting the scope probes to the calibration signals which are near top right below the "storage level" knob. That should give you a known reference signal.

I guess the place to start is try to get four horizontal traces with input voltages at highest settings, AC-0V-DC switches to "0V". Work your way through what does work a step at a time.

Nice scope if it does work.

SilentScreamer

Thanks hippy. I've been poking around some more with little success. I can't get the scope to "scroll" horizontally. Any suggestions for settings? There is a lot of buttons and I don't know what most do (I’ve attached two photos that are actually readable rather than those previous blurred ones).

Another idea that I've had is could it be the probes, or rather the lack of them? I've been using single core wire to make the connections but I've had a look on google and every link I find shows that they're more than just wire. If so would something like this be good enough? Or would better quality probes be needed?

Attachments

Last edited:

Andrew Cowan