noobie needing advice

davehouston

I'm totally new to PICAXE but have a bit of experience with PICs and AVR.

I'm developing a Home Automation system (as well as general purpose hardware) using Arduino form-factor PCBs with a combination of AVRs (using ZBasic) and PICs (using PicBasicPro/ds30 loader).

The distributor who will manufacture/distribute these has a very open sores, educational philosophy so I am exploring using PICAXE chips both on the above referenced shields and on the system boards.

I've done some preliminary reading of PICAXE literature but have additional questions that I hope the folks here can answer.

Are there datasheets that detail the amount of memory and register addresses for the newer PICAXE 8, 14, 28 & 40 pin chips? Are they cross-referenced to the underlying PIC model?

Since PICAXE 8 & 14 pin chips cannot be I2C slaves, I'll need to manage the same function via peek/poke, bit-banging. Is this possible? Could the approach used in the PBP code in post #7 to this thread work with PICAXE?

I need to handle both IR and RF input/output but cannot be limited to what PICAXE supports. For output I need to generate both the carrier (~38kHz) and data envelope. I am assuming I can use PWM and high/low/pauseus for these. Do you forsee any problems?

For RF/IR in, I need to capture the time between rising edges and I see no native methods for this. Is it possible to access the capture/compare hardware using peeksfr/pokesfr?

westaust55

On the topic of using M2 parts as i2c slaves, I do not recall any past threads indicating this has been done before - keep in mind that the M2 parts are relatively new.
Forum member hippy and others have posted PicAxe BASIC code to enable earlier parts (eg 08M) to act as an I2C Master which occupied about 100 bytes. Obviously for a slave there are further complexities. Tentatively can be done but no guarantee.