Newbie - requires point in right direction

defuzz

Hello, total newbie in the world of PIC so just need some pointing inthe right direction.

I have a Canon Digital SLR camera which has a wired remote which works by earthing two connections on a 2.5mm phono socket. I've already made a wired control using this plug, a couple of momentary switches and a project box.

The next step is to build time lapse remote switch. It seems it would be relatively simple to get a picaxe board to do a simple earthing of the circuit every x seconds but my problem comes in with the process of allowing a user to "input" a different time span (without redownloading the programme to the board each time).

-So first of all, will one of the starter packs be able to handle clock functions on their own or do they need a timer/module?

-In order to allow user changable time spans, where should I start researching?

Dippy

If doesn't need to be super accurate then PICAXE can do it easily.

Changing time spans/delays?
Just connect buttons to your PICAXE, get your code to read the Buttons (Faster/Slower) .
Make it flashy with an LCD diplay to show your speed. More buttons and you could preselect the number of frames taken.
So many things...

Have you any/much experience of programming in Basic?

defuzz

very little basic knowledge. I do a lot of windows programming though so hopefully it won't be too hard to pick up.

Rickharris

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size=1 face=arial>quote:<hr height=1 noshade>
So first of all, will one of the starter packs be able to handle clock functions on their own or do they need a timer/module?

-In order to allow user changable time spans, where should I start researching? <hr height=1 noshade></BLOCKQUOTE></font><font face='Verdana, Arial, Helvetica' size=2>