newbie question ... best place to buy components

Noidea

Hi there,

Well here goes, this is my first attempt to join the world of micro-controllers and the greater world of robotics, a life long dream ..... so obviously I am new to all this, I seem to have grasped the basics of programming the picaxe series of chips, I understand the principal of the electronic circuits required ...

However what is the best uk website to purchase all the required bits and pieces (componentry) ... or is it more surf around until you find what you are looking for. This is what I want to avoid, One site with all your electronic needs. Oh, I dont mean the actual picaxe chips and the developers board, more the breadboards, ic's, diodes, led's and the such.

Suggestions would be appreciated.

NOIDEA

Dippy

Cor.
You're going to get dozens of answers here.
It depends.

If you want good quality stuff with good technical support then try Farnell, RS Components or Rapid online.
For odd things try Mouser and DigiKey.
None of the above will be the cheapest.

I use Farnell and RS a lot. I get free next (working) day delivery 99% of the time. No quibble returns for duffers and excellent Technical support.

If you want the cheapest, and you don't worry about quality, warranty or support then try Ebay.

Andrew Cowan

Cheapest, and good for second hand items (eg transformers, motors etc): eBay
Good for low quantities (and cheap): Bitsbox
Good for speed (if local) but expensive: Maplins - also good for budget radio modules
Good for high quality radio modules: Radiometrix
Massive range but £20 minimum order: Farnell
Very cheap if you spend £50 and get free P&P (and very rapid): Rapid Electronics
Good for hard-to-get items (eg GPSs), but slow and expensive postage: Sparkfun (US)
Good for other hard to get parts, but slow (and cheapish) postage: Futurlec
Good and cheapest for PICAXEs and accessories: Rev-Ed
Odd things Farnell doesn't do: Mouser or Digi-Key (both US)