Newbie - LCD in logicator

sodeaf

Hey there guys, I'm a newbie at all this. I'm learning a ton, but I think I am stumped. I'm using a pic 18M2 to communicate with a AXE033. It works great, but I originally bought it to learn so I could be able to use the 20x2 VFD display I currently own but I do not have a serial firmware chip. But I decided to remove the LCD that came with the AXE033 and hook up my 20x2 VFD. (I'm a trial and error kinda learner) It works!!! well I might add. I just use Logicator then convert to basic then change the LCD commands to accommodate the 20x2.

The trick is that this chip (PIC16F819) on the AXE033 will work great for what I need. I guess there is no way to copy it? How would I go about getting more of these loaded with this program? Can I guy them? Or is there something else out there I could use. I have a bunch of 18M2... But i do not know how to right in true basic form, I understand the flow chart style of programming.

Any help here would be awesome

As well what would be the best way to have 2 chips communicate? Could I use the IR? Hardwired?

Thanks guys

Steve

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

The chip in the AXE033 isn't available separately but the FRM010 is a close match. The best way to connect two chips up is usually hard-wired but depends on what you want to achieve.

sodeaf

Cool, so the FRM010 is the same chip on the AXE033 Board or similar, same pin out etc. So I can use that to connect to my VFD display and connect via Serial connection to my 18M2.

My completed circuit will be made up with 2 x 18M2 and the VFD (with FRM010). I know how to connect the FRM010 and 18M2 to work with out a hitch, but whats the best way to have the 2 - 18M2 chips communicate with out any issues.

Thanks again..

Take Care

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
Cool, so the FRM010 is the same chip on the AXE033 Board or similar, same pin out etc.