New to PICAXE (and PIC's in general)

Calamitie

Hi all,

First-time poster:
Name: Michael

I'm totally new to PICAXE and PIC's in general, but I've always loved electronics and never knew that such a device (a PIC) existed!

I can't wait to start playing around with one and testing out things such as the LDR...

Although I understand how to connect up and program a PICAXE chip, I still can't understand how I would use DC motors.

I realise (after reading manual two) that I can't directly connect motors to the PIC (due to the power issue), but how would I control the motor, from the PIC, via a seperate circuit?

Another question, based on the last, would be how children's toys (Furbie's, etc) can power a PIC and all of the motors from one battery pack?

I'm ordering the PICAXE-08 Starter Pack (with USB-to-serial cable), as well as a PICAXE-08M chip and a few devices (an LDR, a couple of LED's, a DC motor and a Piezo), to get to grips with the basics.

Thanks in advance

MORA99

If the motors require 6V, you can connect a diode in series with the picaxe and it will get around 5.3V
Several diodes will drop even more if needed, thats a simple way of using one supply to both.

If you just need to turn on and off the engines you can use a transistor.
Dont know if that works with pwm too.

atharvai

for more info try searching the forum. I remember this topic being posted ages ago.. worth a try

good luck with the PICAXE's

BeanieBots

For simple on/off control of a motor, you will need a transistor as suggested by MORA99. Have a look in manual1 interfacing circuits.
A transistor can be driven with PWM to give speed control.