Mains voltage PWM motor control

Memran

Hello :cool:

I am trying to design a circuit to control a 240v DC motor, and also keep the high voltage separate from the input PWM (in case of magic smoke).

Since I'm fairly new to circuit design, I am unsure of a few things:

Is it ok to have a common ground between the low and high voltage parts?
Should the ground be connected to the mains earth?
If the current draw on the motor exceeds the capability of the fet, can I add more fets in parallel to multiply the maximum current?
Is it safe to assume the high voltage side can be effectively (and safely) tested at a much lower voltage, say 12v?

Perhaps I've done something stupid in my schematic, so any observations and comments are welcome! :D

Thanks!

Mains PWM.png

bluejets

Stay away from 240v mains. Do not know how many times it has to be repeated.

Having said that, there are thyristor controllers out there commercially made for series motors that you can plug in to, assuming your motor has a plug fitted.

John West

Welcome to the forum, Memran. What bluejets is trying to say is that circuits working directly with AC mains are dangerous for beginners, or even some of us old tech fellas. While it's not difficult for an experienced engineer to design such a circuit and have it operate safely, there is a lot more involved in such a circuit than one might initially suspect.

As you are planning on operating an electric motor, there is a requirement for protective circuitry for when the motor is shutting off, or is spun by hand, or stalled, etc. Then there is the heatsinking requirement for the driving semiconductor, line filtering and fusing, and a properly grounded shielded cabinet.