Long precise interval

John Ashurst

I wish to generate a delay of 29sec, pulse of 1 sec and repeat to quartz clock accuracy. 18x plus Dallas clock chip and separate crystal seems a bit over the top for this application. Can anyone suggest a simpler solution. I am new to PIC tecnology

Dippy

If you search back in the recent month or two you will find a thread by Hippy about using the PIC Timer.

If you are new to PICAXEs/PICs programming you may go a little cross-eyed at the code, but you'll get used to that after a while.

There will be a tiny time error but you will have to check that. I can't remember the thread name but I'm sure hippy can tell you when he emerges (he doesn't sleep).

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
I doubt you could get "quartz crystal accuracy" with a PICAXE, even one running from an external resonator/crystal or using a Dallas or other time-keeping chip.

If you want something near micro-second accurate you'll either need a much faster executing processor or will have to do it in hardware. Of course a quartz clock is not necessarily 'accurate' as its crystal, due to varying mechanical or processing delays.

How accurate do you actually want it ?

[added] Yes, I'm wake - It's actually daylight as well :)

Edited by - hippy on 13/02/2007 15:29:23

Dippy

Excuse the potential 'Red Herring' but whilst I was looking in Farnell for something else I came across this:
<A href='http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/85678.pdf' Target=_Blank>External Web Link</a>

It may no be good enough for your application (its just a posh 555), but it may be a useful chip in its various pinouts.

KMoffett

What part of the cycle has to be accurate?