Keypad for PicLock project

dorkygrin

Newbie here just getting back into basic projects and hobbies. So, I was at Harbor Freight today and bought all kinds of cool things. New autoranging DVM, Soldering station, a driveway monitor for my "212" style camera project and some other goodies.

But one thing I got all excited about was a 'fake' keypad that I surmised was a real keypad that just activated a couple of LED's. Here's a distant picture of it:

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=96652

It was only $5.00 !!! So, I had to buy it cause I just KNEW it would be useful for a project that I've had floating in my head about activating my garage door opener. My thought was that I could use a picaxe to scan the keypad if the right digits were entered, activate a relay connected to my spst garage door switch and Bingo, I wouldn't have to worry about my daughter losing the house key again and again.

Then I saw this:

http://www.rev-ed.co.uk/docs/chi008.pdf

(It's a PicLock self assembly Kit)

This kit is MADE for my project. Sweet.

However, I've now got a keypad and I also happen to have a 14M.

Question is, could I just modify the code and use a 14M and skip a row? I guess I just answered my own question.

Anyway, a weatherproof keypad for $5 seemed like a great deal.

:D

That make it much easier for these guys, when you answer your own question like that :) I saw that, but I didn't know it lit up and made noise too...cool!

westaust55

Keypad Lock projects

For another key lock project, you can also look at the Exemplar Projects which can be access from the PE.

With the Program Editor running and a program window open,
From the toolbar select Help / Picaxe Catalogue.

A small window will pop up. At the bottom right of that window is a button labelled "Exemplar Projects".