Is this feasible ?

manie

My latest effort for a 4 digit 7-segment display. It requires 4x CD4026B's plus the 08M and connectors. I've made it bigger (100x160mm Eurocard size). It is a double sided layout BUT (again..):

1 I've never worked with double sided board before
2 I'm quite happy to do a single sided board even with 0.5mm tracks. Done a few of those before on pre-sensitised board which works very well for me.
(I have a good 120W UV lamp, 8-10min exposures, NaOH developer (Yugghh), and HCl/Peroxide etchant.).
3 The question of feasibility is this:
3.1 Can I do it using TWO normal boards sandwhiched together, one as bottom side and the other as top side with "pins" inter-connecting them both (all holes) ??
3.2 Should I rather get some pre-sensitised double sided board (NOT AVAILABLE LOCALLY, not even single sided) and do it that way.
3.3 If the recommendation is 3.2 above, how do you expose both sides to UV light so that all holes LINE UP ??
4 The second question is:
4.1 Should I rather get an LCD display (easier I think) and use that ?
4.2 If recommended that 4.1 is best, which LCD (2x16 or 2x20 etc) and does one need the firmware or is the firmware just a better route to go ?
4.3 If the Rev-Ed LCD is pricey (ZAR vs Sterling exchange) will something from Futurelec work (they're quite a bit cheaper...)

Once again your input/recommendation/scolding is appreciated. This old-timer is learning a lot lately !!

PS: A jpg of the INTENDED double sided layout is attached. 4 digits is NOT EASY !
Edit: Minimum trace width is 0.75mm in some places, 1mm in others, and I will go as wide as possible where ever I can. I will also do a copper pour connecting to the 0V net....

Here is a link to a local supplier with displays at good prices (compared to exchange rate prices). Please let me know what you think..

Manie

Attachments

Last edited:

Dippy