Interfacing to Relays

tomlamonby

Hi guys

Sure you heard it many times, but I'm no expert so I'm not blaming anyone if the theory of this post is comical..

I'm wanting to buy parts for a project I'm planning. The project will involve using a Picaxe to control six RS 4V submersible mini water pumps: http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=getProduct&R=0480140
I would like to use the 28x1 starter pack project board as I already have it, and for ease of use. The system should allow the pumps to be switched on and off seperately, and also all together.
So my question is, can I use the relay interfacing circuit on page 13, section 3 of the picaxe manual? Could the board support six of these circuits? The boards collective output is 100 mA correct? Which transistor is best for the job? I saw on another thread the 2N2222 NPN was suggested for speed. Also would this relay be suitable?: http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=getProduct&R=0102490 if not, could someone suggest a better one? Bearing in mind the pumps themselves would be powered by a recheargeable sealed lead acid battery.
Basically I like the circuits simplicity, but could my board give enough juice to support the six relays using this interfacing method?

Hope the post wasn't too long winded, look forwards to hearing your advice.
Thanks
Tom

eclectic

Hello Tom and welcome to the Forum.

A couple of suggestions.

1. Download the latest version of the manuals, from Datasheets above.

2. The relay circuit is shown in Man. 3, page 7. You need 6.

Look back one page to page 6: The Darlington ULN2803.

You already own one. :)

It might suit your project very well.

e

Last edited:

tomlamonby

works like this?