Infra red + Remote control code issues

jensmith25

I have written code to perform various lighting effects using the 14M2 project board with IR reciever and sony remote from Picaxe.

Most of it is working ok but there seems to be issues where the code isn't switching from one effect to another, so when I push the next button on the remote, nothing happens. I also seem to have to wait for the one effect to finish before I can start another. It starts happening at "swon3". After that "swoffall" doesn't work either.

I am assuming that it's something to do with the pwm commands and that they're confusing the chip somehow but I can't figure out what it is. I wondered if the code needs to exit but I thought the "return" command did that. I can imagine it's somehting quite simple. I'm still a newbie with Picaxe but hopefully it's obvious to those of you with plenty of experience!

Code:
#Picaxe 14M2
'Iron Man remote control lighting.  Eyes, chest and hands.
'1) On - off  for the eyes
'2) On - off for the chest and hands
'3) Slow fade from 'off ' to full 'on', on for 6 seconds, then a flash, then slow fade back to 'off' for the chest and hands
'4) Slow fade On-off for the eyes
'5) Slow fade On-off for chest & hands

main:
	irin [1000,main],C.0,b0  ;wait for new signal
	if b0 = 0 then swon1   ;switch on button 1 - eyes on
	if b0 = 1 then swon2  ;switch on button 2 - chest & hands on
	if b0 = 2 then swon3  ;switch on button 3 - eyes slow fade on
	if b0 = 3 then swon4  ;switch on button 4 - chest & hands slow fade on
	if b0 = 4 then swon5  ;switch on button 5 - slow fade from off to on for 6 seconds, flash, slow fade to off for chest and hands

if b0 = 5 then swoff1  ;button 6 - switch off eyes
	if b0 = 6 then swoff2  ;button 7 - switch off chest & hands
	if b0 = 7 then swoff3  ;button 8 - fade off eyes
	if b0 = 8 then swoff4  ;button 9 - fade off chest & hands

if b0 = 21 then swoffall  ;switch off all lights

goto main

swon1:  ;switch on eyes - button 1
	high B.4