Inconsistant serial input problem

tonto2k

Hi, I am having some trouble interfacing a bluesmirf bluetooth module and a picaxe 28x1. I can send serial commands over a terminal(lynxterm) on my laptop via bluetooth, but sometimes the commands don't display correctly.

I am using a picaxe 28x1 with 4 LED outputs(pins 1,2,3,4) and one serial input (pin8). The bluesmirf is configured at 4800bps therefore I haven't needed to change the picaxe frequency.

In operation I type either 1,2,3 or 4 and the corresponding LED lights up on the picaxe. My problem is sometimes I press a number and the led doesn't light up.

I am quite new to serial communications and I have been looking on the forum and googled quite a bit but I am still struggling !

Hope somebody can point me in the right direction please :)

Thanks.

Attachments

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
[ Moved to Actice Forum ]

Code:
serin 8,N4800,b1
if b1 = 231 then goto greenflash
if b1 = 51 then goto yellowflash
if b1 = 230 then goto redflash
if b1 = 25 then goto greenflash2
Pin 8 ;-)

What's more intriguing are the values the charcters you are matching with; these aren't standard ASCII codes for numbers "1" through "4". I suspect there's some baud rate or polarity issue.

tonto2k

Is pin 8 the wrong input pin for serin? I am using an axestack 28 board and pin 8 is the first input on it. I have read a little about hserin would these pins be better for serial comms?

The numbers are a little strange ! I got them by debugging b1 and basically wrote down each value for each number 1 - 4.

My terminal settings are: port: com10, baud:4800 data bits 8, stop bits 1, parity 1, flow control none.

The Bluesmirf configuration settings are:
baud: 4800 Parity: none Mode: slave authen=0 encrp=0 pincod = 1234 bonded=0 rem=none set

Thanks for the help :)

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
I'm not familiar with the axestack boards but 28X1 pins are numbered 0 through 7.