How can I do a LED CUBE RGB?

Manel_s4

Hello, my name is Manel Serrano, and I'm seventeen. I'm studying the techologyc "batxillerat" and I'm doing a reserching work. So I have already done a cube LED 3 x 3 x 3 and I have programmed something.

So I want to extend my work doing a LED CUBE RGB and I don't know very well how do it.

I have a 18M2 and what do you recomend me? I think it's enough to do a 4 x 4 x 4 or 5 x 5 x 5 but what do you think? Is it more different than the I have already done?

I would like you recommend me and that you can give me some advices.

Thank you,

Manel

nick12ab

Can you clarify what exactly the cube is? I need to know
  • Whether it is currently RGB or not?
  • Does your current design multiplex the LEDs?
  • Are you using 3x3 LEDs on each side of the cube or just on one side?
  • Is your current one based on a PICAXE?
Also, this should have been posted in the Active PICAXE Forum.

Manel_s4

Ok, I'm sorry

• No, my first LED CUBE is only with red LEDs.
  • Yes, I multiplex the LEDs
  • I'm using 3x3 LEDs on each side, namely, I've got three floors and on each floor I've got nine LEDs, so, in total I've got 27 LEDs
  • Yes, I have used the 18M2

mrburnette

Ok, I'm sorry

• No, my first LED CUBE is only with red LEDs.
  • Yes, I multiplex the LEDs
  • I'm using 3x3 LEDs on each side, namely, I've got three floors and on each floor I've got nine LEDs, so, in total I've got 27 LEDs
[
One way (brute force) to do this would be to take the 18 pins, subtract the 2 power pins to leave 16 potential I/O lines. You need 2 lines to handle the 3 floors states: OFF, Floor 1, Floor 2, Floor 3. The other 14 I/O lines can be applied to the 9 LEDs per floor... in effect, you only need 9 output lines, so you have 5 lines that can be used for Input, if required.