help !

sid

I am new to picaxe and have just written my first program which runs well enough in simulator.:D, however I can't download the program to the 08m.:(
I have downloaded and installed the AXE027 drivers and have set the coms port.
I'm connected to the chip via the axe 027 usb-board cable , but when I press run I keep getting the error message "hardware not found on com1":(
I have checked all the connections etc and have run out of ideas.:confused:
Any advice anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated.

ylp88

Have you checked that you are using the correct COM port and that your cable is working by performing a loopback test?

What are you powering your circuit with? Battery/plug pack? Direct/regulator?

Are you breadboarding it, or have you fabricated a PCB?

ylp88

sid

picaxe

thanks,
how do I do a loop back test ?
I'm powering the baord with a model rail controller set at 5v (tested with a voltmeter,
Oridiginally I was using the axe29 connected to the breadboard after a couple of hours of playing with this I gave up and made a veroboard version following the diagrams in the manuals and I still get the same message.
I have checked that I'm plugged into com port3 (in my case) and that the editor is set to com port 3
?

sid

I meant to add, I did the test where I measured the voltage across the input and output pins 2&7 and got a reading of 0.16v on both boards and when I hit the green test button I got 0.49v.
I'm beginning to think that the cable might be a fault ?
I could just be missing the obvious !

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member
You should measure beteen leg 2 and 0V, not legs 2 ad 7.
Do you get 5V across legs 1 and 8, the chip power legs?

sid

yes I get 5v between pins 1&8
my mistake on the previous message, the usb help states...
3) Use a multimeter on the DC Volts setting to measure the voltage between the PICAXE serial input pin and 0V.
4) When the LED is off, the signal should be between 0V and -1V.