Help with simple PICAXE circuit driving LED's using Transistors

jproehl

Hi all:

I've been struggling with a rather simple project using a PICAXE08M2 to try to randomly light and un-light some LED containing cars on a small HO train layout. The cars need 12v (or at least 9v) to light their LED's, so I thought that using transistors with the base connected to an output pin that the PICAXE could pseudo-randomly switch between high to low to light and un-light them. The cars would be on a 12v circuit that passes through the collector-emitter on a transistor.

I'm a bit new to this electronics stuff, so I might have something mis-wired, but I've attached a circuit diagram and my code trying to drive it. The diagram contains 2 manifestations of the circuit, just look at the left or right half (to the left/right of the 5v and 12v input blocks) that runs either cars #1 and #2 or cars #3 and #4. When I run the code in the simulator, the two pins (C.2 and C.4) switch semi-randomly between high and low as the random variable in the code dictates .. so I believe the code is correct. It my physical implementation that is suspect.