Help with PCB software

itolond

Dear Forum,

I am looking at using CopperCam or EagleDesign Lite to create my pcbs on a Sherline mill via Mach 3 or direct . As i have zero experience with either products looking for some good information on these.

PS i suspect i will also be working with SMD as well

gizmo01

Maybe take a look at Designsparkpcb.com I've been using this software for awhile now and its very easy to learn. It's free also.

marzan

If you want to try something different try diptrace. It has most of the picaxe libraries. Also easy transition to Mach3. Diptrace-> file-> export->mach2/3 drill gives you your drill file.Diptrace-> file-> export->dxf->D2NC(cheap mach3 add on good for lots of stuff on mills)->mMach3 gives you tour routing file.

cactusface

Hi,
I find Eagle a real pain, with a learning curve that would put most people off. Try Diptrace it's compleatly FREE with lots of part libraries (Including picaxe) and you can create you own, schematics, PCB, part editors, all you need...
I make my PCB's with a laser printer, it's easy.

Regards

Mel.

17b

I use Eagle as limited Freeware Version together with PCB-GCode to mill my few PCBs with EMC2. Works for me, i dont know if there is an easier way because i use Eagle since the early 90s and i dont want to try another Program. Setting up PCB-Gcode is a bit tricky, but works.
What do you want to know? Working with Eagle or making the NC data for MACH?

tmfkam

I've used Eagle for a number of years now. I was originally provided with a paid version of EasyPC which I found very user un-friendly and far from easy.

I then tried Eagle and for me it was much simpler to understand, it also had a Mac version that I could use at home. I used Eagle (lite) from then on, in preference to the copy of EasyPC. I simply kept my PCBs within the size limits and broke larger projects into modules. This suited my design approach well and I never found it a hindrance.