Help with altering borrowed code

2gttalon

I have borrowed some code from Ken Lee with assistance from Hippy. The code was originally for 20 LEDs but i have fgured out how to change it for 32 LEDs. Now i am looking to figure out the addition of other colors. It is primarily red/blue/green currently. I would like some yellow/orange, purple, white....etc. I am very new to picaxe but seem to be learning quickly on my 08m2 with protoboard. Could someone help me understand it better ?

Attachments

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
The code outputs data held within the PICAXE RAM so all you need to do is to set the values you want in RAM, then call the 'Send_LED_Data' routine. The best example already in the code is ...

for b1 = FIRST_LED to LAST_LED step 3
:
bPtr = LED_NUM + BLUE: @bPtr=FULL
bPtr = LED_NUM + GREEN: @bPtr=FULL
bPtr = LED_NUM + red: @bPtr=FULL

Instead of FULL set whatever values are required to get the colour you want.

2gttalon

I have come far since the last post but could use some help. I have been battling an issue for about 3 months and i do not want to give up. Can someone look over this code and teach me how to convert it to run 78 LEDS ? I have tried the following things in parenthesis next to each line.

'Define Constants
Symbol LED_TOT = 32 'Number of LEDs in pattern (tried just switching this to 78)
Symbol RAM_START = 256-96 'Start of RAM Storage for 20 LED Data sets. 3 bytes per LED in order BGR (tried changing to 256-234)

If anyone can offer any tips or tell me is this is even possible you will make my day.

using 08m2 with picaxe proto board with 5v 1A supply. strip i am using has ws2801 IC

Attachments

lanternfish

Hi 2gttalon

I have been out of touch with the PICAXE for a while but can help a litle bit with your problem, I hope!

Your code:

Code:
Symbol LED_TOT = 32		'Number of LEDs in pattern   (tried just switching this to 78)