Help reading battery voltage

wagp

I would like to build a device that would accurately read and display the voltage from the engine and house batteries in my motorhome. Both are 12 volt systems. I image a PICAXE board with the necessary switches and "stuff" that will select which set of batteries to read and display.

My project has more going on, but reading and displaying the two different voltages has me stumped.
I'm new to all this and not sure how to get started.

Thanks,
wagp

KeithRB

What has you stumped?
You need to run wires from the batteries to where the PicAxe is and use a voltage divider to drop the 20 V down to 5. Connect the wires to a valid ADC port on the PicAxe. Then use readADC which will scale the 0 - 20 V to 0 - 255.

(I used a maximum of 20 V because Car electrical systems are really nasty and have lots of transients and noise.)

KeithRB

AXE133Y or AXE134Y OLED module. Works great with the PicAxe.

But I don't know whether you want to read it from 2 feet or 20 feet...

premelec

Note that the reference voltage for reading READADC is the V+ voltage on the PICAXE so this should be a stable known voltage. [implies internal reference stuff or external voltage regulator]. Note that the voltage regulator and PICAXE draw a small current - if the vehicle is put in storage they should be disconnected.

SAborn

Do you have a understanding of the basic circuit you will need for your picaxe battery monitor.

In most cases with a LCD you can read both batteries and display them on seperate lines, without the need to switch between each battery.

If you buy a project board with the picaxe chips, try to select one that has a place for a voltage regulator on the board, as you will need it for 12v to 5v operation.

wagp

I have "sort" of an understanding. A retired electrical engineer friend is helping, but he's out of town at the moment.
I'm a retired computer programmer, so together we are interested in building this battery monitor.