Help ! PICAXE 08M2 with a 74HC595 Shift Register, and Im a total noob.

robbert229

Hello, my name is John. I am currently new to the whole Microcontroller buisness, along with ICs in general. I have a pretty good idea about electronics, circuits, etc in general but I cant seem to find a proper code for an 08M2 to just turn one led on with my 74HC595 shift register, and then for the code to be broken down into somthing that I can understand, I thank anyone who helps me on this matter. I do have about 2 years of experience in C++, and a whole lot of experience in other languages, but with the shift registers, the main thing I see is people bit banging them in a knowledgeable way, I dont yet have that knowledge so I am looking to learn how.
Sincerely John.

westaust55

Welcome to the Picaxe forum.

You could have a look at the project I posted here:
http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?13687-3-digit-display-using-74HC595

This was using an earlier Picaxe chip and three shift registers in series/cascaded to drive 3 7-segment displays.
While it may be larger than your present goal you should find details useful therein.

The thread includes schematics and program examples for earlier 08M and larger 28/40X1 chips.
You mainly just need to remove hardware and code for the 2nd and 3rd '595 shift registers.

Last edited:

robbert229

Okay thanks. (Dont know why I didn't see that thread in the hours of searching for 74hc595 examples). Just to confirm from the example

LOOKUP digit, ($7D,$60,$5E,$7A,$63,$3B,$3F,$70,$7F,$7B), digout : This assigns data to the variable I am going to shift out.

mask = digout & $80 ; Mask out the MSB : I have no idea what this means by the way.

LOW sdata : turns off the serial line.

IF mask = 0 THEN skipMSB : Another part I don't understand

HIGH sdata : serial line high

skipMSB: pulsout sclk,1 : Pulses out the Serial Clock

digout = digout * 2 : I dont know what this does