Hello, I'm back (with a new Picaxe project)!

Innes

I was looking for a 'chit-chat' section in the Picaxe forums, but couldn't find an appropriate section, so I hope it's okay to post here (it's Picaxe project-related).

After a couple of years away from the Picaxe forums (and electronics in general), I have finally got back to it. I have got the mechanics for my current project in place, and I am now working on the software controls and circuit for it...

My project is an electronic lock for my mini workshop / office that I have built in my garage. The lock is completely homemade; it's a linear actuator made from a threaded rod, connected to a motor. I'll post some pics in the user's projects forum, hopefully during this week.

The last time I posted in these forums (Jan 2011), I was a high-school ICT teacher in the UK. However, a lot has happened since then...

August 2011: Moved to Western Australia (WA) with my family
February 2012: Started Freelance work (training end-user in Windows software products)
May 2013: Had a book published
May 2013: Bought a house (still in WA)
April 2014: Start a permanent job (that's just one week away)!

So, I have an excuse for my Picaxe hiatus!

I'm really hoping that my new job still allows me enough time to enjoy my hobby of electronics. I love picaxe, and my daughter (aged 13) has started an electronics class in high-school this year, so I hope to work on some projects with her.

Best regards,
Innes

Last edited by a moderator:

westaust55

Welcome to Western Australia.

In time you may find that there are many PICAXE users in Perth and regional areas. Altronics in Northbridge is a retail outlet selling PICAXE parts and kits.

Unfortunately a new job may, as with a new project, demand a greater proportion of your time and after work and family commitments, time for hobbies may at times be diminished.