For the hardware folks - FET driving for BLDC motor

InvaderZim

Hi all, this is only vaguely related to a PICAXE. But I'd like to have a logic circuit drive a brushless dc (BLDC) motor, which means having FETs on 24VDC switching on and off, but with logic at a different voltage. This means level translation, which I've got no experience with.

Would the attached picture be a good start? I'm really worried about transients affecting the driving logic; don't want those FETs on at the same time! There will also be hall effect sensors in there somewhere, feeding the logic.

Also, here's another catch: the 24VDC for the motor may not be clean. In fact, it might just be rectified AC, peaking at 40+ Volts and diving down to 0 (or less...pesky motors). In the future, there may be PWM, but not yet (baby steps!) The driving logic will be fairly clean though. In theory that isn't a problem, but motor transients have me all worried.

Max current is about 1.5 amps; average current is much less.

I'm sure there's been things like this done before, but I'm having trouble finding good examples; they're all 15V max, or rely on a level translation or motor drive chip that is obsolete. I'm looking for a really generic example that I could use again in the future or teach with.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

jglenn

This is an extremely difficult task. There is a series of articles in recent
Servo Magazine on a scratchbuilt one. The software is mind boggling.

I fly Eplanes, can get cheap ESC electronic speed controls, but just had
to try to built one, 3 phase bridge with fets, and a raw pic chip, prog in assem.

Only worked at one speed, and the motor got hot. Later I found I did not
address what they call "timing". Unless you have a sensor, usually hall effect,
to tell where the rotor is, you need to do it by measuring back EMF. Oops.

:eek:

InvaderZim